My peace

I was busy working and not focusing on God when I heard Jesus whisper to me: ” Peace  I leave with you, My peace I give to you,I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid” ( John 14:27)

I have learned over the years that when God speaks to stop and listen. I think sometimes we listen with our ears and not with our hearts.. that is why I trained myself to stop and listen when He speaks.. Especially if it is out of the blue.. So when I heard this, I stopped.. and listened with my heart. What is He saying?

This verse is out of the chapter where Jesus comforts His disciples and promises the Holy Spirit. I think at that moment the disciples had no idea why Jesus was so serious. Only a couple of days later did they realize the power of these words. But at this present moment, Jesus was not speaking to me as being part of the disciples and I already have received the Holy Spirit .. so what was He saying?

Peace I leave with you,My peace I give to you. I do not give to you as the world gives..only now I see it.. I have always thought the scripture in my bible says that I do not give as the world gives.. but it says I do not give to you as the world gives. He is making a distinction. This statement alone challenges my trust in His character! Do I expect a cold Jesus? Can I see Him?

I remember one day I was sitting in a coffee shop with a close friend of mine. She was talking about her walk with God and what she was learning. All of a sudden the thought dawned on me. I know Jesus! My eyes started to well up. I know a true God, A Loving God. A God Who is the Truth. A God Who is healing. A God Who is Love. A God who fought for me 2000 years ago and now gives me victory in my battles. I know a God Who became nothing so that I can become Everything. I know a God that is the purest form of unconditional love towards me. I know a God who gave His peace to me and He does not give like the world gives. The wold gives with conditions, with rules, with an expectancy for something back. The world gives to prove it self. It gives out of selfish gain. It gives out of bondage and into bondage. My Jesus do not give as the world gives!

My thoughts immediately moved to the areas in my life where I receive from God as if I would receive from the world. My heart melted. Jesus is so beautiful, so tender and so safe. I can trust Him. I have His peace, I have His life. I am safe and I am unconditionally loved….

Bill Johnson always says that he can give us all teachings about healing and about the Kingdom, but he cannot give us intimacy with Jesus. Intimacy is trust between two parties. My prayer for all of us is to know God. To receive from Him and then to stare into His eyes blazing with passion and say thank you.

Leave a Reply

