Celebrating your 687 birthday..

There is this thing in charismatic churches that we call “hero -worship.” Ladies get so touched during worship by God or by the preaching, they mistake that Love they experience as if it comes from the man leading the worship or preaching.

I, however, am one of the lucky ones. I married my hero preacher. Why the big intro? Because I want to write about Stoffel. ūüôā {Sorry Love.} We have a small gathering on Thursday nights where we talk about Jesus and the Gospel. Thursdays are difficult for all of us. It is after a long week of hard work and by that coming Thursday, I start to see all the cancellations. I don’t blame them, I am too dead tired by then! Yet everytime we do push through and get to sit down, I get rocked by my husband’s preaching. Man , oh man, this man knows the Word! He is a love sick puppy for Jesus and me, the lucky wife, walks around in this world, married to a man who not only understands unconditionally love, but feeds on it daily and then hands it out to the world. And I, being his treasure, recieve 80 % of that adoration! { Oh, Lucky me!!!! } Ok, now I have to stop talking about him. But he is really good in preaching, believe me.

This past Thursday, I had a big aahhaaa moment. I have always wondered how these old testament dudes got to live till 886 years of age? I have heard many philosophies about the years being shorter and what not. Yet, after I heard the message of the gospel ,I started to believe it must have been some kind of supernatural thing. Maybe they prayed over their water. The opportunities were endless.

There is a bible story that we like to tell people about Jacob and his father in law. He wanted to go his separate way in his sheep business with his Father-in- law. He approached Laban and asked for a portion of the flock. Laban had a plan and said that Jacob can have some of the flock, but only those with spots and blemishes. So what did Jacob do? When the healthy sheep came to drink water and mate at the water hole, he planted sticks that he crafted spots in. And when the unhealthy sheep came to drink and mate, he took the sticks away. Later, little lambs were born from the healthy sheep with spots on and Jacob walked away from Laban with a healthy flock of sheep covered in spots. (My version)

What you look at you become.. This brings me to another faith story Jesus told us. ” If you have faith as small as a mustard seed and you tell this mountain to pick itself up and move, it will do it if you believe.” So why did the old guys get so old? They didn’t believe in death. Why did they not believe in death? Because it was a rare thing to see at that time.

Before Adam and Eve ,there was no -one else. So when the sin fall came and Adam and Eve lost their ability to live forever, they did not know what death meant . The curse was set into action, but due to not understanding it, they just kept on living until one day at a very old age,they died. Today, death is all around us. So naturally death is part of our thinking. This is an extreme example, but one that make sense in the Kingdom of God.

I truly believe that we underestimate faith. Stoffel is a huge faith and grace preacher. Grace means you have unmerited favour and what you do not deserve you receive as a gift. Basically, because us human race sinned against our Creator and allowed a different rulership to enter this domain that was given to us, we fell under the curse of the kingdom of death. Earth was ours to keep and we gave it away in the time of Adam and Eve. Because it was done by our human choice ,we wilfully became enemies of God. Now, look at this beautiful thing. Even though we were still enemies of God, He never forsake us. Look at the old testament. In the story of Moses, God stepped in big time and saved a lot of people, while they were still in an enemy state towards God. We needed an atonement that can set things right with us and our Creator.Just through natural science, we see that  our DNA is passed on through generations, in other words, we carry the fallen DNA of Adam and Eve. Looking at this, by no means could we ever atone ourselves towards God. We needed an unblemished seed.So God became human through a Virgin birth and became the atonement. Jesus saves the world at the cross.

Romans 5: 10 says it like this,”For if, while we were God’s enemies, we were reconciled to him through the death of his Son, how much more, having been reconciled, shall we be saved through his life!” He opened a way into a new Life Domain in this earth. The Kingdom of God.Not only were we saved through His work and not ours but we also got access to His life on earth, all as a gift. That is grace. Faith is the response you have to God and His gift. And Faith is HUGE!

Everything we do, we do by faith. I sit on this chair by faith. I eat this apple by faith. Faith was the only thing that Jesus rebuked His people on. Faith is not some kind of foreign thing, it is here and now and it is a free gift by Grace from God.

Why then this post? We are in a information age. Last time I posted about fear creeping in everywhere. Daily, I look at my thinking and realize I am not responding to Life, but to death. We truly have been given the power to live a victorious life and the key to enter it this life,is faith. All has been given to us, yet we stand on the front porch, and moan because our life suck, never realizing that the mansion is right behind us, all given to us to enjoy and explore. We have so much more to live for, yet we keep ourselves captivated by the worries of this world.

I don’t know what you believe when you read my post. All I can say that I live a blessed life. I am privilege to have heard the truth and to apply it in my daily live. I see myself as lucky that I don’t see God as angry, but as a good God with a whole lot of fun planned for me. When I stumble, I just call on Him and He restores. I have even learned that He restores before I ask! He always does. I am thankful that I am finished with the life of striving to please Him and atone for my own sins. I am thankful that I can see His gift that He has given me, a gift so pure that it’s goodness prevents me from sinning by my choice. A thankful heart overflows with life.

In Ephesians Paul speaks and he says: 1:15-23 :

15 Therefore I also, after I heard of your faith in the Lord Jesus and your love for all the saints, 16 do not cease to give thanks for you, making mention of you in my prayers: 17 that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give to you the spirit of wisdom and revelation in the knowledge of Him, 18 the eyes of your understanding[c] being enlightened; that you may know what is the hope of His calling, what are the riches of the glory of His inheritance in the saints, 19 and what is the exceeding greatness of His power toward us who believe, according to the working of His mighty power 20 which He worked in Christ when He raised Him from the dead and seated Him at His right hand in the heavenly places, 21 far above all principality and power and might and dominion, and every name that is named, not only in this age but also in that which is to come.

22 And He put all things under His feet, and gave Him to be head over all things to the church,23 which is His body, the fullness of Him who fills all in all.

This whole scripture says that there is more that was given to us at the Cross, and it is our believe system that will help us to explore this more…

5 thoughts on “Celebrating your 687 birthday..

Leave a Reply

