a Hallo and Goodbye

WHAT A YEAR!

I cannot believe that the end of this year is in sight. Wow. This year has flown passed and to me it felt like it was jammed packed. At this moment, we as a country are in mourning for our Beloved Father of our  Nation, Nelson Mandela. I love all the tributes and tears fill my eyes when I think that I am part of this country. I know we have our struggles, but wow, have you seen our nation this last couple of days? Beautiful. This is the true South Africa.

My year has been filled with very lows and very highs.  My illness is the obvious low, but again I stand amazed at my incredible Heavenly Father’s ability to change all things for the good for those who love Him. Last week I attended an advocacy workshop as a representative of a group called TB Proof. Our own Madiba was a TB survivor. I felt honoured to be walking this road with the most amazing people. Even though  I do not know much, I am looking forward to learn and definitely bring TB to its knees.

One thing that this year has taught me is to love myself. We somehow believe this lie that we should love our neighbour more than we love ourself but Jesus said to love our neighbour as we love ourself. I have learned that I do want to live. This causes a different spin on the way I perceive life. I have mentioned this before, but I have started to really set up strong boundaries to protect the most dear to my heart. If you are a happy human being, you are a happy neighbour causing a pay it forward effect. Respect and honour are key attributes of someone who loves himself.

Look at our election coming up. The last couple of days has shown us how incredibly beautiful our country is.I couldn’t help but to notice that our South Africa now is not reflecting Tata’s dream. I want leadership in this country that reflects the value of its people. We can do something about it by voting.

Another thing I also learned this year that ties in with loving your neighbour as yourself , is to think before your speak. Words do carry power. Before you say or do something, whether light hearted or serious, think if this truly is complimenting the receiving party. A lot of unnecessary hurt can be prevented if we start to think before we speak.

I once was in a conversation where I was suppose to be safe. I heard how someone said that he believes that people who have a sickness was caused by having a bad relationship with God. I just stood there, knowing that everyone in this room, including the person who said it, knows that I have TB.  Indirectly I was just judged by my relationship with God. Luckily, I know my God and the truth. My believe system rejected this lie and I could still accept this person for who they are.

I want to end with this. We are God’s glory. We do a lot of crazy things in the name of God, but His heart is towards people. He wants the best for His children. I would say to treat each other according to that understanding is a great place to start.

This year has been tough and great at the same time. As I am sitting here, I am tired to my core. Therefor I am taking a break till the 6th of January 2014.  I will then post chapter 4 of my story! 😉

Thank you so much for the incredible support these last couple of months. I feel the love and have no words to express how much I appreciate every email, Facebook message and sms. Without your loyal support, I would have never been able to walk this journey. THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!

Have a very blessed christmas and very happy new year….

Love,

Linda

Leave a Reply

