Stoffel’s Easter Sunday sermon

I am busy with importing my photos of this past weekend’s wedding. Yes, I am a photographer by day! 🙂 www.lindafouriephotography.com if you want to have a look!

I have over 15 000 pics to work through after this season.. but I need  “me time”, so my worship music is on and I am getting inspired by Him and writing is what follows.

This past couple of weeks, I have had some very interesting stuff happen to me. Some not so nice, others I will repeat again. Normally I take my time to process through it all, but I have been seriously so busy that even sleep was sometimes not an option.

This past Sunday was Easter Sunday and my hub hub was invited to preach with a friend. I could not go with although I would have loved to hear him preach. I am his wife, but even before I married this man, I admired his preaching gift..

Anyway, as he was preparing, he asked me to read through all the scriptures he wanted to use. Stoffel loves the Bible. Only book he reads and he reads it daily. He loves to ponder on every scripture and the fruit is one joyful revelation that will knock the wind out of your sails. Because of his full time job, lots of people can’t experience these nuggets of gold, but me, I get them all! Selfish I know! 😉

As I was reading, I noticed a pattern in his choice of scripture. It was all about our identity. Who we are after the cross. I had a lot of stuff in my fuzzy brain these last couple of weeks and as I was reading through these scriptures, it was as if someone took a scissor and cut away all the “dirt”. The end result was clarity. I saw myself again, as Jesus not only sees me but created me to be.

I have all the scriptures and will post Stoffel’s personal notes now, but first, let me say, the moment you have accepted Jesus in your life, the ball game changed. You are 100-0 ahead with only 2 seconds on the clock for the enemy to do something. Your defence is the best in the world, your attack team is the best in the world,there is no way for you to lose.

Doesn’t matter where you are at, Jesus is consistent. A lot of times we act according to how we think Jesus will respond. But I have realised that Jesus is the most mature man I have ever met. He is not emotional, one day happy, the next day sad, He is a conquerer sitting on the throne, Who conquered all His enemies.

It is finished.

This morning as I was spending time with Him, I was reminded of those first couple of days of diagnosis being made. Doctors, me, family and hubby were freaking out. Then Jesus came.

In one sentence, He stilled my fear. Yes, I cried litres of tears in the days following that encounter, but it was all safe in His arms. My core knew, that doesn’t matter what will happen, I am with Him.

This is what counts. You and Him. He has set you free to live the most outrageous, wonderful, powerful life on this earth. He created you to be His Workmanship, His co-worker as you together with this King rule this world.

Kris Valloton once said: He stripped the enemy of all his power and then for his punishment, Jesus led him roam this earth with His children to rule over him.

It is as if a Lioness gave her cubs a little lizard to play with.

We are powerful. Maturity is living with this power in meekness, not using it against our brothers and sisters but to focus it all on that “lizard”.

Here is Stoffel’s sermon, this is his exact notes:

Celebrating Grace
1Co 2:1 And I, brethren, when I came to you, did not come with excellence of speech or of wisdom declaring to you the testimony of God.
1Co 2:2 For I determined not to know anything among you except Jesus Christ and Him crucified.
Grace came and made it ease and uncomplicated. Christianity was way too hard and complicated for me. Do not be led away from the simplicity that’s in Christ.
Col 2:9 For in Him dwells all the fullness of the Godhead bodily;
Col 2:10 and you are complete in Him, who is the head of all principality and power.
The full package is in Christ and you are complete in Him. Keep it simple.
We are part of team Jesus and we are so far ahead we cannot lose. You cannot mess it up. So take a big swing!
Rom 6:5 For if we have been united together in the likeness of His death, certainly we also shall be in the likeness of His resurrection,
We are co crucified and co raised in the likeness of His resurrection.
1Jo 4:17 Love has been perfected among us in this: that we may have boldness in the day of judgment; because as He is, so are we in this world.
You did not find Him he found you. You did not press into Him He pressed into you. So even if you don’t feel like it you are smack full of joy, close to Jesus and full of power.

There are some people here that know that God is not hard on them, however they are still hard on themselves.

We are part of team Jesus and we are so far ahead we cannot lose. You cannot mess it up. So take a big swing!
Luk 9:28 Now it came to pass, about eight days after these sayings, that He took Peter, John, and James and went up on the mountain to pray.
Luk 9:29 As He prayed, the appearance of His face was altered, and His robe became white and glistening.
Luk 9:30 And behold, two men talked with Him, who were Moses and Elijah,
Luk 9:31 who appeared in glory and spoke of His decease which He was about to accomplish at Jerusalem.
Luk 9:32 But Peter and those with him were heavy with sleep; and when they were fully awake, they saw His glory and the two men who stood with Him.

Jhn 17:20 “I do not pray for these alone, but also for those who will believe in Me through their word;
Jhn 17:21 “that they all may be one, as You, Father, are in Me, and I in You; that they also may be one in Us, that the world may believe that You sent Me.
Jhn 17:22 “And the glory which You gave Me I have given them, that they may be one just as We are one:
Rev 1:12 Then I turned to see the voice that spoke with me. And having turned I saw seven golden lampstands,
Rev 1:13 and in the midst of the seven lampstands One like the Son of Man, clothed with a garment down to the feet and girded about the chest with a golden band.
Rev 1:14 His head and hair were white like wool, as white as snow, and His eyes like a flame of fire;
Rev 1:15 His feet were like fine brass, as if refined in a furnace, and His voice as the sound of many waters;
Rev 1:16 He had in His right hand seven stars, out of His mouth went a sharp two-edged sword, and His countenance was like the sun shining in its strength.

He is holy, righteous, glorious, powerful, victorious warrior and full of joy.
1Co 6:17 But he who is joined to the Lord is one spirit with Him.
Col 1:27 To them God willed to make known what are the riches of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles: which is Christ in you, the hope of glory.
2Pe 1:3 as His divine power has given to us all things that pertain to life and godliness, through the knowledge of Him who called us by glory and virtue,
2Pe 1:4 by which have been given to us exceedingly great and precious promises, that through these you may be partakers of the divine nature, having escaped the corruption that is in the world through lust.

Gal 6:14 But God forbid that I should boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, by whom the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world.

2Co 11:3 But I fear, lest somehow, as the serpent deceived Eve by his craftiness, so your minds may be corrupted from the simplicity that is in Christ.

 

Leave a Reply

