One of my favourite things is when my husband laughs at me. I am a storyteller that works for myself. I have a fast approach to life and have created a world that can stimulate me till he is home. Our tradition each day is him coming home, me making him a cup of coffee and then we sit for an hour and chat about our day.

His day is very eventful as he is surrounded with people whereas my day is full of me, my dogs, the crazy Telkom guy, Facebook and God. Every time after the hour he says to me how eventful my day was with tears streaming down his face of laughter. I don’t set out to make him laugh, I just tell my day as I perceive it.

Last night was no different and through many laughs of me naming someone wrongly, I realised that this hour is my husband’s highlight of his day. Mine too, but as he listens to me, I feel like a treasure that is being discovered. I can see that if we had to do it all again, have to meet each other again, marry, build a life and a family, all this again with the information he has about me now, he will search far and wide till he finds me. I am his treasure and he is mine.

This morning in my quiet time, I sensed the same thing from God towards me. I must be very entertaining, because I can sense God just listening to me with this big smile on His face. He is watching my thoughts, my heart and my truth rolling towards Him like a thunder cloud bringing a big storm. And He smiles. I am His treasure too.

Both of them, my husband and my God, blesses me tremendously, and I see it as a great honour to discover God as well. To discover His love for me. To learn how He sees me and the people close to my heart.

It reminded me of a parable His Kingdom:

Matthew 13:44 ESV – 44 “The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field, which a man found and covered up. Then in his joy he goes and sells all that he has and buys that field.

It is no secret that we are God’s treasures. We are the ones that He bought with joy back from the enemy. But my question is do we see His Kingdom as the treasure as described in Matthew 13:44.

When you read this parable in context, you will see that Jesus is talking about His kingdom. It is referred to as a treasure, the next verse as a merchant selling pearls and finding the great pearl, sells everything else with joy, just to buy this pearl.

This last couple of days I was thinking: My husband sees me as a treasure and just like I know that I know that he will sell everything with great joy just to buy the field that I am in, I also know that God did the same. My heart then realised that God’s Kingdom is our treasure. And when you find it, joy will be our first reaction.

Now the question is what is the Kingdom of God?

Linda, I know, it is when there is no sin anymore. So we have to work towards it. I hear ya, and that is exactly what I thought, but I stumbled across something else:

Romans 14:17 ESV – 17 For the kingdom of God is not a matter of eating and drinking but of righteousness and peace and joy in the Holy Spirit.

This is the Kingdom of God: Righteousness means in Right Standing with God. We know that this was achieved by the cross through Jesus.

Romans 3:19-26 ESV – 19 Now we know that whatever the law says it speaks to those who are under the law, so that every mouth may be stopped, and the whole world may be held accountable to God. 20 For by works of the law no human being will be justified in his sight, since through the law comes knowledge of sin. 21 But now the righteousness of God has been manifested apart from the law, although the Law and the Prophets bear witness to it– 22 the righteousness of God through faith in Jesus Christ for all who believe. For there is no distinction: 23 for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, 24 and are justified by his grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus, 25 whom God put forward as a propitiation by his blood, to be received by faith. This was to show God’s righteousness, because in his divine forbearance he had passed over former sins. 26 It was to show his righteousness at the present time, so that he might be just and the justifier of the one who has faith in Jesus. {Italics mine}

So there we go, because of His cross we are righteous.

Peace means a state of tranquility,freedom from war or violence.

Joy means a feeling of great pleasure and happiness.

And then we find His Treasure: In the Holy Spirit. That is our treasure and inheritance from Christ: His Holy Spirit.

I have taught so many times on the Holy Spirit and many times I realised that He is the most misunderstood Person of the Godhead. Jesus we get, Father we get but the Holy Spirit stays a mystery. Why did He come, Why is He important?

Let me start to say that the Holy Spirit is a Person. He is not a genie with a magic wand that fixes all, but He has been given to us by Jesus to guide us into all Truth. He is Life to us on this earth. Jesus at this moment is at the right hand of the Father in heaven. That is where He went after the resurrection. Jesus told his disciples to stick together in Acts till He baptise them with The Holy Spirit.

Acts 1:4-5 ESV – 4 And while staying with them he ordered them not to depart from Jerusalem, but to wait for the promise of the Father, which, he said, “you heard from me; 5 for John baptized with water, but you will be baptized with the Holy Spirit not many days from now.”

Then the Holy Spirit came on the disciples mightily and we can see through the whole of Acts the ministry of the apostles through the Holy Spirit.

To me, the Holy Spirit is my treasure. I walk my day with Him. He is as real to me as my husband is to me. I share my thoughts, fears and joys with Him. My life started to transform when I started to listen to His guidance and started to obey His heart.

All of this flows out of an intimate relationship with Him. He is our protector, guide and joy.

Thinking of all of this the last couple of days, I realised that this is what we as people need. We need to invite more of His Presence into our lives. Imagine a life full of peace, joy and righteousness. That is His Kingdom and what Jesus preached about , Jesus even said that we will do mighty things through the Holy Spirit:

Matthew 6:10 ESV – 10 Your kingdom come, your will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.

His Kingdom is the answer.

My thinking is if the natural doesn’t work, why not try His Kingdom of heaven? It is what He came for,He restored all things back to His glory through the Holy Spirit.

Let His Kingdom reign in your life this week.

Have a blessed week!

Leave a Reply

