At this moment we are training a group of fantastic people in the Prophetic. I love the prophetic because it is a big part of who I am! It is amazing to see people step out and trust God for  a powerful word that can change others lives. Through watching and learning form them, God reminded me of my first word I received.

I was still a student at Stellenbosch University and just got back at my res from class when I saw someone left me a note on the notice board. It was a simple note where the girl explained that she was exploring the prophetic and this is her first prophetic word she ever gave. I was clueless to what the prophetic was and what her word meant at that stage, as I was also still on the journey of exploring God and His Kingdom myself.

Her word was simple: ” The book of Hebrews is going to have a huge impact on you.”

So I read the book of Hebrews that night and nothing. I thanked her for taking the time to practice on me and went on with my life.

During my quiet time on Monday morning, God asked me to read Hebrews. And this week, twelve years later, her word came true. The book mesmerised me and even now typing about it, I have tears in my eyes.

The writer of Hebrews is a mystery, but the whole book is written to explain Jesus and His purpose. As I read through it, I saw His face right in front of me. While reading it, it took my right to the feet of the cross, looking at it in awe of Him and that He truly changed everything. The message of the cross is MASSIVE and just in this last week with my journey through Hebrews, the importance of the cross was confirmed again. We, as believers, cannot move away from the Jesus and what He has done on the cross. It is impossible after you have set your eyes on the cross to walk away unchanged.

Jesus wasn’t just an ordinary man. This is evident in the book of Hebrews. He was crafted into the foundation of the earth before Adam and Eve. Him and His whole purpose come alive in the book of Hebrews. The writer of Hebrews goes through every aspect of Him, explaining why He came and what it meant for that society on that day in history and for us today.

One  specific chapter that really got me was the chapter on Faith. Hebrews 11.

Hebrews 11:1 NLT – 1 Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see.

Powerful. As I read through this chapter, my heart leaped. It goes on and on about how the cloud of witnesses of the Old Testament lived by faith. They were so convinced of the promise that was set in their hearts by their God that they were willing to be sawed in half for it. And yet the scripture says that they never saw the promise being fulfilled.

And then this scripture:

Hebrews 11: 39-40 NLT -39 All these people earned a good reputation because of their faith, yet none of them received all that God had promised. 40 For God had something better in mind for us, so that they would not reach perfection without us.

We are counted. This generation after the cross is counted for to reach perfection and the only difference between us and the Old Testament saints is Jesus and what He has done on the cross. Our faith plays a vital role today and with regards to this promise that the old saints was willing to die for.

One thing that just stuck with me is our purpose. Just as Moses lifted the the rod with the snake and all people who looked at it were healed, in the same way Jesus was lifted on the cross that whoever looks at Him,were saved. Today is no difference, we have salvation and the church is Jesus’ body. The moment we lift up Jesus and the world looks at Him, they will be saved.

It is by faith in this promise that was fulfilled in Him, who is the eternal, that we live eternally. It is by faith in His goodness demonstrated at the cross, that I pray. It is by faith in His perfect work that I am sure of things hoped for will actually happen. It gives us insurance of things we cannot see.

It is the most liberating thing to live through Jesus. To believe wholeheartedly in His goodness. You are a conquerer of this world and all its troubles because of Him and what He has done.

There are no words to describe the peace of God that I experience because of this ‘knowing Him’. I just think of David and where this world might look like a scary place to be born in, I am still at peace. Not because I will protect him with all my heart and might, no, because David, my son, belong to Jesus .

Think about this, we are experiencing the manifested promise that the Old saints could only dream of. Right now the Kingdom of God is here.

When I go through a troubled time, I worship. My music is on loud, like now. My heart focuses on Him and in seconds I know that all will be alright. I can then turn back to living for His Kingdom through Him.

Hebrews 12:2 NIV – 2 fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith. For the joy set before him he endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.

Let’s fix our eyes on Jesus. Let’s take our eyes away from us and the things of this world. There is a promise that is being manifested that is way more worthy than what the devil is busy with.

Have a blessed week!

Leave a Reply

