“But why?” I asked Hephzibah, my tour guide on my recent trip to Israel, after she finished yet another sad story of the Jewish people’s persecution  “Because they hate the God of Israel.” was her answer.

I am not Jewish but have tremendous respect for the Jews. I, however, believe in Jesus and that He is the Messiah. But these words of Hephzi really hit a cord. Walking in Israel made the onslaught and hatred of the enemy so evident. He hates God and will do anything to destroy His people. He will literally go as far as trying to destroy a country that was given to the people of God.

Instead of trying to wrap my mind around why there is so much evil and why , my heart wondered to a scripture by Paul in Ephesians:

Ephesians 6:12 NKJV – 12 For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places.

I had to ask myself who is this God that they are warring against? The extremeness of this hatred had me asking why?

I went to Israel as a Christian, walked where Jesus walked, saw what His eyes saw. But all through it on several occasions, I saw a True picture of Him.

This is not a weak Messiah that needs to defend His ways. He came, He conquered and He is sitting at the right hand of God waiting for the time that His enemies will be made His footstool.

Hebrews 10:12-13 NIV – 12 But when this priest had offered for all time one sacrifice for sins, he sat down at the right hand of God, 13 and since that time he waits for his enemies to be made his footstool.

This is not a God to be taken lightly.

With all the stories of horror, you still hear the miraculous stories amongst the Jews. Their God is still their guard, waiting patiently for their eyes to see the true Messiah, Jesus Christ.

I remember a reading in the Chronicles of Narnia about a description they had about Aslan the Lion, C.S Lewis portraying of Christ:

“Aslan is a lion–the Lion, the great Lion.”

“Ooh!” said Susan, “I’d thought he was a man. Is he–quite safe? I shall feel rather nervous about meeting a lion.”

“That you will, dearie, and no mistake,” said Mrs. Beaver, “if there’s anyone who can appear before Aslan without their knees knocking, they’re either braver than most or else just silly.”

“Then he isn’t safe?” said Lucy.

“Safe?” said Mr. Beaver. “Don’t you hear what Mrs. Beaver tells you? Who said anything about safe? ‘Course he isn’t safe. But he’s good. He’s the King I tell you.”

This is how I feel. I saw a Jesus with fire in His eyes. The fierce look in His eyes is that of absolute justice and righteousness, consumed with perfect love. There is absolutely no way that you can walk away from an encounter like that and not be changed. Yet through this radical revelation of the Fear of God, I heard Him loud and clear, I am His and He is mine.

This stripped me from me. It cleared me from all of me. No, I don’t believe that I must become less for Him to become more. No, I don’t believe in being a worm in front a fearful God. I was just silenced with absolute respect and awe of Who He is.

My natural instinct is to lie down of what I see as important: The praises of men, the ever seeking of who I am, the approval of many and just stand “naked” in front of my King fully aware that I have been accepted and completely humbled that this magnificent  God found me worthy.

I have so much  awareness of what my thoughts are, not wanting to tolerate anything that is not from His lips. I want to live my life worthy of His name.

This is not a meek Jesus on the cross. No, this is a Living God Who has set the captives free, Who made me a Son of the Most High. I am no longer a slave, I am a child of God.

and all I have to show for it is gratitude and faith.

 

www-lindafourie-com77

p.s I also went as a photographer 😉

Have a look at more photos on my business page: Linda Fourie Photography

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

