You and your calling

This morning my little boy woke up all very joyful. He was playing hide and seek, helping his dad getting dress and full of cuddles. But in a matter of twenty minutes, this sunshine child had a thundercloud hovering over his head. Apparently, this behaviour is very normal for his age group, but to his dumbstruck parents, we were at a lost for words. Why did this child go from mr. I love you to mr. I don’t like you in a matter of minutes?

As he was screaming his head off on Stoffel’s lap I went through the process of illumination, I offered food, it got smacked out of my hand, I offered his favourite soft toy, Leeu,he got thrown right across the room. Bottle, nope. Dummy, nope { was a surpise} then I remembered, we always show him some cartoons, while I make breakfast and his dad finish getting ready for work. So I put on good old faithful Mickey Mouse and the kid went from screaming to giggling in a matter of minutes.

And on we went as normal.

I was sitting with him waving goodbye to his dad with Mickey and Pluto still playing when I heard another fit of giggles. I looked at my boy, but he was still waving tata to his dad, completely lost interest in Mickey. I hurt the giggling again, then I heard God say: ” Is it not absolutely marvellous how Walt Disney could make his imagination tangible? I gave him that imagination and he used it as a gift to others. “{This morning Mickey was a gift.}

God loved how Walt used his talents to bless. Yes, he made a lot of money through it, but I think we all should realise that the currency money is just a reflection of your day’s work. Your time is valuable.Walt took his precious gifting and made something valuable with it. Obviously, it will cost something!

This made me think. God loves it when we take our talents and let it work for us. God loves us to work. We all know that very well known parable:

Matthew 25:14-28 NKJV – 14 “For the kingdom of heaven is like a man travelling to a far country, who called his own servants and delivered his goods to them. 15 “And to one he gave five talents, to another two, and to another one, to each according to his own ability; and immediately he went on a journey. 16 “Then he who had received the five talents went and traded with them, and made another five talents. 17 “And likewise he who had received two gained two more also. 18 “But he who had received one went and dug in the ground, and hid his lord’s money. 19 “After a long time the lord of those servants came and settled accounts with them. 20 “So he who had received five talents came and brought five other talents, saying, ‘Lord, you delivered to me five talents; look, I have gained five more talents besides them.’ 21 “His lord said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant; you were faithful over a few things, I will make you ruler over many things. Enter into the joy of your lord.’ 22 “He also who had received two talents came and said, ‘Lord, you delivered to me two talents; look, I have gained two more talents besides them.’ 23 “His lord said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant; you have been faithful over a few things, I will make you ruler over many things. Enter into the joy of your lord.’ 24 “Then he who had received the one talent came and said, ‘Lord, I knew you to be a hard man, reaping where you have not sown, and gathering where you have not scattered seed. 25 ‘And I was afraid, and went and hid your talent in the ground. Look, there you have what is yours.’ 26 “But his lord answered and said to him, ‘You wicked and lazy servant, you knew that I reap where I have not sown, and gather where I have not scattered seed. 27 ‘So you ought to have deposited my money with the bankers, and at my coming, I would have received back my own with interest. 28 ‘Therefore take the talent from him, and give it to him who has ten talents.

But even more so, the blessing for us is when we recognise someone else’s talent and add value to it accordingly.

Luke 10:7 NKJV – 7 “And remain in the same house, eating and drinking such things as they give, for the labourer is worthy of his wages. Do not go from house to house.

1 Timothy 5:18 NKJV – 18 For the Scripture says, “You shall not muzzle an ox while it treads out the grain,” and, “The labourer is worthy of his wages.”

Jeremiah 22:13 NKJV – 13 “Woe to him who builds his house by unrighteousness And his chambers by injustice, Who uses his neighbour‘s service without wages And gives him nothing for his work,

Jesus had said that it is more bless to give than to receive. I am fully for this principle when it comes to me as a boss. I only have a couple of people working for me, but I train them well, develop their skill and I pay well. I go even further to trust God with them for that extra. Every month I trust God for extra in my income to give it away, and ever since I started doing this, my business is booming. I give, not to receive, but to be like this master of the talents, to see how what I give develops, to create even more wealth for the people under me.

I dislike it when my friends do something in their trade for me for free, I never ask for a discount, if I can’t afford what I want, I do not buy it. { This being said, I have one specific friend that I fight with about her offering her services for free, I leave money on her desk and when I later open my handbag, she sneaked the money back into my handbag. This is her way to bless so I accept it.} I am sold out to honouring the skill and talents of my community just as God honours my giftings.

And I am incredibly blessed. This principle has set me free from performance and strive in my business. This is peace and trust in His provision is by FAR more valuable than any amount of money in my bank.

How does this apply to you?

First up: Realise that you are valuable. This includes your skill and talents. Want to know what your calling is? Look at what is in your hands. In other words, what skills do you have that can create wealth.

My husband is in the world of finances. He has a incredible sense of justice and hates injustice in any kind of form. Recently, they took on one of our government institutions because of this. He wants to see justice prevail. For months he equipped himself in the law of our country to understand what is happening. He is a very gentle soul except when this issue is raised. 😉 So his talent is working with other people’s money but he successfully  got this talent to work for him. He now fights for those people, letting the Kingdom of God come in this area of finances as well.

This the key, let what you do serve the Kingdom, not you. Trust God for a breakthrough in your world for the sake of the Kingdom. Whether this happens by erasing poverty through what you do or financing missionaries in the mission field. If we only trust God for more but never give it away we are struggling with greed. You might think you are well established but in reality, you are not. If you cannot give it means that you have a master and that is Money. The fruit of a master that is not God is a life without peace and a life filled with strive, envy and hatred.Signs are that you are up all night worrying about money, or when your child needs something it has become a war in your house.

” We just bought this last month!”

This is not freedom.

Secondly, Learn to trade. Develop your skill well and ask a value that reflects your level. I am in the photography business and this is an ongoing battle. We are constantly cut by younger inexperienced guys coming in and asking next to nothing, just to build a name. This is not sustainable. You will attract clients, but are they the clients you want? I have a policy, I do not work with clients that want a cheaper price than what I offer.  {I once received an email from someone going on and on how expensive photographers are and she knows I am a Christian, so she knows that I won’t rip her off. She then asked me to photograph her wedding for R800. I said no.}

I spend hours working really hard and developing my skill. I have a family and a life outside of my work. My time costs money and if you can’t respect what I charge, then you are not my client. I am in a luxury industry, in other words, my business is not a basic need, it is a want. Therefore I do not have thousands of clients. So I have to charge a higher price to be sustainable in my business and life.

This I learned through many years in the industry. Learn to trade. Do not let people treat your value as invaluable. But also be prepared to deliver, so work hard.

Lastly, gain respect for yourself. Learn to love you. God wants you to prosper. So act accordingly to His voice and Truth.

 

I hope this helps!

 

 

Leave a Reply

